Watership Down (1999)


Genre: Animation , Adventure , Family , Fantasy , Thriller

Plot: Watership Down is an animated television series, loosely adapted from the novel of the same name by Richard Adams. It was a co-production of Alltime Entertainment of the United Kingdom and Decode Entertainment of Canada, and produced by Martin Rosen, the director of the 1978 feature film adaptation. Watership Down aired for 39 episodes and three series from 1999 to 2001, on both YTV in Canada and CITV in the UK, though the latter did not broadcast the third series. It starred several well-known British actors, including Stephen Fry, Rik Mayall, Phil Jupitus, Jane Horrocks, Dawn French, John Hurt, and Richard Briers, among others. Stephen Gately sang a new arrangement of Art Garfunkel's "Bright Eyes", which had been included in the 1978 feature film, while Mike Batt and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra contributed a completely new score. In 2003, composer Eric Robertson as well as David Greene and Mike Batt were nominated for a Gemini Award for Best Original Music Score for a Dramatic Series for their work on the show. Some episodes from the adaptation were released on VHS and later, DVD. In October 2005, a Region 2 DVD box set of all three series was released in the UK. Read More



Episode 13: The Magic
Episode 12: The Beginning of The End
Episode 11: The Betrayal
Episode 10: The Spy
Episode 9: The Eyes of Silverweed
Episode 8: Darkhaven
Episode 7: The Dark Deal
Episode 6: My Fair Gull
Episode 5: The Secret of Redstone
Episode 4: The Nestling
Episode 3: The Wanderer
Episode 2: A New World
Episode 1: The Last Battle
Episode 13: The Homecoming
Episode 12: Bigwig's Way
Episode 11: The Invasion
Episode 10: The Mysterious Visitors
Episode 9: Winter on Watership Down (2)
Episode 8: Winter on Watership Down (1)
Episode 7: The Great Game
Episode 6: The Orchard
Episode 5: The Stand
Episode 4: The Great Water
Episode 3: The Market
Episode 2: The Roundabout
Episode 1: Prisoner of Efrafa
Episode 13: Kidnapped
Episode 12: Friends and Enemy
Episode 11: Lost
Episode 10: A Tale of a Mouse
Episode 9: The Vision
Episode 8: Escape from Efrefa
Episode 7: Challenge to Efrefa
Episode 6: The Raid
Episode 5: The Shadow of Efrefa
Episode 4: Strawberry Fayre
Episode 3: The Easy Life
Episode 2: Home on the Down
Episode 1: The Promised Land