The Brittas Empire (1991)


Genre: Comedy

Plot: Gordon Brittas is a Leisure Centre manager with a dream. Due to the unexplained collapse of his last Leisure Centre during his time in temporary charge, he was given a glowing reference and 'encouraged' to take up a managerial position at Whitbury Newtown Leisure Centre. His 'loyal' staff have stories of their own, like Carole Parkinson, the receptionist, whose husband has left her, forcing her to keep her baby in the drawer under her desk. Also Tim Whistler and Gavin Featherly, the fitness instructors whose relationship Brittas always seems to be oblivious to. Julie Porter, Brittas' secretary, is always 'too busy' to do anything for him, and constantly looking for chances to show him up. Linda Perkin, the ever-ready staff member who always believes what Brittas says is best. Laura Lancing, Brittas' hard-working deputy manager is in and out of relationships with her estranged husband, Michael T. Farrell. Finally, Colin Weatherby, Brittas' deputy manager is keen and devoted to anything Brittas says is best, but isn't the cleanest or healthiest of people and always has a bandage over the wound on his hand. Whatever chaotic incidents occur, Brittas and his staff emerge unscathed, from ceiling collapses, rooms full of ice, other world invaders, tropical spiders and propane gas explosions. Read More



Episode 9: Surviving Christmas
Episode 8: Curse of the Tiger Women
Episode 7: Exposed
Episode 6: Gavin Featherly RIP
Episode 5: The Disappearing Act
Episode 4: Wake Up The Lion Within
Episode 3: http://etc.
Episode 2: Reviewing The Situation
Episode 1: The Elephants' Child
Episode 7: Snap Happy
Episode 6: Mr. Brittas Falls in Love
Episode 5: We All Fall Down
Episode 4: A Walk on the Wildside
Episode 3: At the Double
Episode 2: Body Language
Episode 1: Back with a Bang
Episode 9: In the Beginning ...
Episode 8: The Last Day
Episode 7: UXB
Episode 6: Pregnant
Episode 5: The Boss
Episode 4: The Lies Have It
Episode 3: Brussels Calling
Episode 2: Blind Devotion
Episode 1: The Old, Old Story
Episode 8: High Noon
Episode 7: The Chop
Episode 6: Shall We Dance?
Episode 5: Playing with Fire
Episode 4: Mr Brittas Changes Trains
Episode 3: Biggles Tells a Lie
Episode 2: The Christening
Episode 1: Not a Good Day ...
Episode 6: The Stuff of Dreams
Episode 5: Sex, Lies and Red Tape
Episode 4: Two Little Boys
Episode 3: Laura's Leaving
Episode 2: That Creeping Feeling
Episode 1: The Trial
Episode 7: New Generations
Episode 6: Safety First
Episode 5: Mums and Dads
Episode 4: Set In Concrete
Episode 3: An Inspector Calls
Episode 2: Temple of the Body
Episode 1: Back from the Dead
Episode 6: Assassin
Episode 5: Stop Thief
Episode 3: Bye Bye Baby
Episode 2: Opening Day
Episode 1: Laying the Foundations