Supercar (1961)


Genre: Family , Sci-fi

Plot: Supercar was a children's TV show produced by Gerry Anderson and Arthur Provis's AP Films for ATV and ITC Entertainment. 39 episodes were produced between 1961 and 1962, and it was Anderson's first half-hour series. In the UK it was seen on ITV and in the US in syndication. The format uses puppets in a technique called supermarionation, a name that was first seen in the closing titles of the last 13 episodes. The plot of the show consisted of Supercar, a vertical takeoff and landing craft invented by Rudolph Popkiss and Horatio Beaker, and piloted by Mike Mercury. On land it rode on a cushion of air rather than wheels. Jets in the rear allowed it to fly like a jet and retractable wings were incorporated in the back of the car. Retrorockets on the side of the car slowed the vehicle. The car used "Clear-Vu", which included an inside television monitor allowing the occupant to see through fog and smoke. The vehicle was housed in a laboratory and living facility at Black Rock, Nevada, U.S.A. In the show's first episode, "Rescue", the Supercar crew's first mission is to save the passengers of a downed private plane. Two of the rescued, young Jimmy Gibson and his pet monkey, Mitch, are invited to live at the facility and share in the adventures. Read More



Episode 13: King Kool
Episode 12: Transatlantic Cable
Episode 11: The Day That Time Stood Still
Episode 10: Jail Break
Episode 9: The Sky's the Limit
Episode 8: 70-B-Lo
Episode 7: Atomic Witch Hunt
Episode 6: Space for Mitch
Episode 5: Calling Charlie Queen
Episode 4: Hi-Jack
Episode 3: Operation Superstork
Episode 2: Precious Cargo
Episode 1: The Runaway Train
Episode 26: The White Line
Episode 25: The Tracking of Masterspy
Episode 24: Crash Landing
Episode 23: Supercar "Take One"
Episode 22: Magic Carpet
Episode 21: Dragon of Ho Meng
Episode 20: Trapped in the Depths
Episode 19: The Lost City
Episode 18: The Sunken Temple
Episode 17: Hostage
Episode 16: Deep Seven
Episode 15: Flight of Fancy
Episode 14: A Little Art
Episode 13: Pirate Plunder
Episode 12: Phantom Piper
Episode 11: Ice-Fall
Episode 10: Island Incident
Episode 9: High Tension
Episode 8: Jungle Hazard
Episode 7: Keep It Cool
Episode 6: Grounded
Episode 5: Amazonian Adventure
Episode 4: What Goes Up
Episode 3: The Talisman of Sargon
Episode 2: False Alarm
Episode 1: Rescue