Mr. Belvedere (1985)


Genre: Comedy , Family

Plot: Popular 1980s sitcom based on the Gwen Davenport novel "Belvedere," which in turn was thrice adapted to the big screen. Like its earlier novel and big-screen brethren, "Mr. Belvedere" featured British butler Lynn Belvedere, who takes a job as a live-in nanny for a typical American family and records their everyday experiences in his diary for future use in writing a novel. In the 1985 small-screen version, the Owens family served as that "typical American family" and the source of fodder for Belvedere, who had previously worked as a gentry for Winston Churchill and had connections to British royalty. Family patriarch George (played by sportscaster Bob Uecker) was, in an example of art imitating life, a sportswriter; the matriarch was Marsha, a law student. The couple, who had settled in suburban Pittsburgh, had three children: awkward teenager Kevin; precocious, easily-embarrassed Heather; and mischievous prankster Wesley. George was initially uncomfortable hiring the worldly Belvedere but eventually came to appreciate the Englishman's friendship (as well as his expert culinary skills). Unlike his older siblings, Wesley never seemed to get along with Belvedere, but even he came to appreciate the British native's regularly-dispensed advice. Each episode ended with Belvedere writing in his journal, giving the show's moral while putting everything into perspective. In later years, Marsha graduated from law school and got her first job, and Kevin and Heather graduated from high school and entered college. The 1985 small-screen adaptation of "Mr. Belvedere" marked the end of a long succession of unsuccessful attempts to bring Davenport's novel to television; the three earlier pilots were made in the 1950s (soon after the final big-screen movie) and 1960s. Read More



Episode 20: The Counselor
Episode 19: Graduation
Episode 18: The Apartment
Episode 17: Kevin Nightengale
Episode 16: Heather's Monk
Episode 15: Foxtrot
Episode 14: The Trip (2)
Episode 13: The Trip (1)
Episode 12: The Diary
Episode 11: Commentary
Episode 10: Kevin's Model
Episode 9: G.I. George
Episode 8: Christmas Story
Episode 7: Fall Guy
Episode 6: The Wedding
Episode 5: Moonlighting
Episode 4: Marsha's Job
Episode 3: Triangle
Episode 2: TV George
Episode 1: Initiation