Monsters (1988)


Genre: Comedy , Drama , Fantasy , Horror , Mystery , Sci-fi , Thriller

Plot: Monsters is a syndicated horror anthology series which originally ran from 1988 to 1991 and reran on the Sci-Fi Channel during the 1990s. As of 2011, Monsters airs on NBC Universal's horror/suspense-themed cable channel Chiller in sporadic weekday marathons. In a similar vein to Tales from the Darkside, Monsters shared the same producer, and in some ways succeeded the show. It differed in some respects nonetheless. While Tales sometimes dabbled in stories of science fiction and fantasy, this series was more strictly horror. As the name implies, each episode of Monsters featured a different monster which the story concerned, from the animatronic puppet of a fictional children's television program to mutated, weapon-wielding lab rats. Similar to Tales, however, the stories in Monsters were rarely very straightforward action plots and often contained some ironic twist in which a character's conceit or greed would do him in, often with gruesome results. Adding to this was a sense of comedy often lost on horror productions which might in some instances lighten the audience's mood but in many cases added to the overall eeriness of the production. Read More



Episode 24: The Moving Finger
Episode 23: The Maker
Episode 22: Hostile Takeover
Episode 21: Talk Nice to Me
Episode 20: Werewolf of Hollywood
Episode 19: A Face for Radio
Episode 18: Desirable Alien
Episode 17: Leavings
Episode 16: The Waiting Room
Episode 15: The Space-Eaters
Episode 14: Household Gods
Episode 13: Malcolm
Episode 12: A New Woman
Episode 11: Sin-Sop
Episode 10: The Waiting Game
Episode 9: The Young and the Headless
Episode 8: A Shave and a Haircut, Two Bites
Episode 7: Small Blessings
Episode 6: The Hole
Episode 5: Outpost
Episode 4: Cellmates
Episode 3: Bug House
Episode 2: Murray's Monster
Episode 1: Stressed Environment
Episode 24: The Family Man
Episode 23: The Bargain
Episode 22: The Gift
Episode 21: Refugee
Episode 20: Micro Minds
Episode 19: Far Below
Episode 18: The Offering
Episode 17: One Wolf's Family
Episode 16: Perchance to Dream
Episode 15: Mr. Swlabr
Episode 14: Bed and Boar
Episode 13: Habitat
Episode 12: Museum Hearts
Episode 11: Half as Old as Time
Episode 10: The Mandrake Root
Episode 9: Reaper
Episode 8: The Demons
Episode 7: Jar
Episode 6: The Farmer's Daughter
Episode 5: Love Hurts
Episode 4: Rerun
Episode 3: A Bond of Silk
Episode 2: Portrait of the Artist
Episode 1: The Face
Episode 24: La Strega
Episode 23: Mannikins of Horror
Episode 22: Satan in the Suburbs
Episode 21: All in a Day's Work
Episode 20: The Cocoon
Episode 19: Rain Dance
Episode 18: The Match Game
Episode 17: Taps
Episode 16: Their Divided Self
Episode 15: The Mother Instinct
Episode 14: Parents from Space
Episode 13: Glim-Glim
Episode 12: Fools' Gold
Episode 11: Rouse Him Not
Episode 10: Pillow Talk
Episode 9: Pool Sharks
Episode 8: Sleeping Dragon
Episode 7: The Legacy
Episode 6: Where's the Rest of Me?
Episode 5: My Zombie Lover
Episode 4: The Vampire Hunter
Episode 3: New York Honey
Episode 2: Holly's House
Episode 1: The Feverman