Life on Earth (1979)


Genre: Documentary

Plot: Life on Earth (1979) is an epic 13-programme series, presented by David Attenborough, offering a chronological account of the flora and fauna of planet Earth over a period of 3,500 million years. Whether recounting the first journey from the sea to the land, the development of insects and flowers, or "The First Forests" and "The Lords of the Air", Attenborough's enthusiasm is infectious. He guides us through The Infinite Variety of life from microbes to marsupials, via an unforgettable meeting with mountain gorillas, to conclude with The Compulsive Communicators, mankind itself. Three years in the making, involving 1.5 million miles of travel and featuring some of the most beautiful, breathtaking and ambitious photography then seen on television, Life on Earth was the first natural history blockbuster. It redefined TV by showing that an epic, serious wildlife documentary could be a massive success. As such, it remains a true television landmark and paved the way for further entries in what became known as his Life series. Read More



Episode 13: The Compulsive Communicators
Episode 12: Life in the Trees
Episode 11: The Hunters and Hunted
Episode 10: Theme and Variations
Episode 9: The Rise of the Mammals
Episode 8: Lords of the Air
Episode 7: Victors of the Dry Land
Episode 6: Invasion of the Land
Episode 5: Conquest of the Waters
Episode 4: The Swarming Hordes
Episode 3: The First Forests
Episode 2: Building Bodies
Episode 1: The Infinite Variety