Great British Railway Journeys (2010)


Genre: Documentary

Plot: Michael Portillo makes various railway journeys across the UK, using a 150-year-old Bradshaw's Guide (a collection of railway timetables and a guidebook). He looks at the history, culture and industry of the towns that he passes through, and the way that things have changed since Bradshaw wrote his Guide. Read More



Episode 6: Chislehurst to Kennington
Episode 5: Herne Bay to Leeds Castle, Kent
Episode 4: Deal to Margate
Episode 3: Rye to Dungeness
Episode 2: Hassocks to Benenden
Episode 1: Biggin Hill to Ashdown Forest
Episode 14: Blaenau Ffestiniog to Barmouth
Episode 13: Bangor to Betws y Coed
Episode 12: Rhyl to Anglesey
Episode 11: Crewe to Shotton
Episode 10: Newmarket to Walsingham
Episode 9: Sawbridgeworth to Cambridge
Episode 8: Potters Bar to Cardington
Episode 7: Colchester to Chadwell Heath
Episode 6: Saxmundham to Dedham
Episode 5: Farnborough to Winchester
Episode 3: West Ruislip to Windsor
Episode 2: Stoke Mandeville to Beaconsfield
Episode 14: Saxmundham to Norwich
Episode 13: Witham to Felixstowe
Episode 12: Limehouse to Rochford
Episode 11: Canterbury to Alexandra Palace
Episode 10: Taunton to Salisbury Plain
Episode 9: Paignton to Tiverton
Episode 8: Bodmin to Totnes
Episode 7: Truro to St Mawgan
Episode 6: St Ives to St Day
Episode 5: Elgin to Loch Ness
Episode 4: Dundee to Aberdeen
Episode 3: Falkirk to Dundee
Episode 2: Kielder Forest to Edinburgh
Episode 15: East Malling to Rye
Episode 12: Reading to Cookham
Episode 10: Glasgow to Connel Ferry
Episode 8: Larne to Dumfries
Episode 6: Newry to Portadown
Episode 5: Birmingham to the Potteries
Episode 1: Warrington to Preston
Episode 15: Criccieth to Caernarfon
Episode 14: Liverpool to Dolgarrog
Episode 8: Newport to Clevedon/Yatton/Bristol Channel
Episode 7: Pontyclun to Ebbw Vale Town
Episode 6: Whitland to Swansea
Episode 5: Swanwick to Brownsea Island
Episode 4: Chichester to Cowes
Episode 3: Croydon to Shoreham-By-Sea
Episode 2: Letchworth Garden City to Herne Hill
Episode 1: Cromer to Cambridge
Episode 20: Brighton to Chichester
Episode 19: Faversham to Dorking
Episode 18: Ilford to Rochester
Episode 17: Ipswich to Chelmsford
Episode 16: Norwich to Brandon
Episode 15: Cheltenham to Wolverhampton
Episode 14: Chippenham to Gloucester
Episode 13: Wokingham to Bradford-on-Avon
Episode 12: Winchfield to Crowthorne
Episode 11: Southampton to Basingstoke
Episode 10: Nottingham to Leeds
Episode 9: Leicester to Loughborough
Episode 8: Northampton to Nuneaton
Episode 7: Bletchley to Newport Pagnell
Episode 6: London Euston to Cheddington
Episode 5: Honley to Chesterfield
Episode 4: Haworth to Huddersfield
Episode 3: Preston to Rochdale
Episode 2: Southport to Leyland
Episode 1: Manchester to Birkenhead