Desmond's (1989)


Genre: Comedy

Plot: Desmond's was a British television situation comedy broadcast by Channel 4 from 1989 to 1994. With 71 episodes, Desmond's became Channel 4's longest-running sitcom. The first series was shot in 1988, with the first episode broadcast in January 1989. The show was made in and set in Peckham, London, England and featured a predominantly Black British Guyanese cast. Conceived and co-written by Trix Worrell, and produced by Charlie Hanson and Humphrey Barclay, this series starred Norman Beaton as barber Desmond Ambrose. Desmond's shop was a gathering place for an assortment of local characters. Read More



Episode 13: O Little Town Of Peckham
Episode 12: A Sign Of The Times
Episode 11: When The Cat's Away
Episode 10: Heavy Traffic
Episode 9: The Return Of Hyacinth Green
Episode 8: Judgement Day
Episode 7: The Speech
Episode 6: Planning Permission
Episode 5: Love Letters
Episode 4: Demon Barber II (Turbo)
Episode 3: Georgetown Dreaming
Episode 2: Hatchet Job
Episode 1: Do Me A Favour
Episode 13: The Patter Of Little Feet
Episode 12: A Matter Of Life And Death
Episode 11: Shirley's Sermon
Episode 10: Two Lads And A Lady
Episode 9: Kiss Of The Spiderman
Episode 8: Coughs And Sneezes
Episode 7: Love Match
Episode 6: Fairy Tales
Episode 5: Pardnership
Episode 4: Lollipop Man
Episode 3: Halcyon Days
Episode 2: Shimmer And Shine
Episode 1: A Class Act
Episode 13: The Godmother
Episode 12: My Two Sons
Episode 11: Go with the Flo
Episode 10: Art Attack
Episode 9: Can't Buy Me Love
Episode 8: Susu Again
Episode 7: Too Red Eye
Episode 6: The Kid
Episode 5: Calypso
Episode 4: Lee's Journey
Episode 3: Growing Pains
Episode 2: Flats, Lies and Videotape
Episode 1: All Things Bright
Episode 13: The Roots Tradition
Episode 12: Too Young
Episode 11: The Prodigal
Episode 10: Dobbin
Episode 9: Daydreams
Episode 8: Driving Me Crazy
Episode 7: The Waiting Game
Episode 6: Vanity Merchants
Episode 5: Relative Strangers
Episode 4: Smokeless Fuming
Episode 3: A Day in the Life
Episode 2: The Peckham Pimpernel
Episode 1: The Head Hunter
Episode 13: Thirty Year Itch
Episode 12: Aunty Susu
Episode 11: Kung You
Episode 10: Here Comes De Sun
Episode 9: Stop the World, I Want to Get Off
Episode 8: For Love or Money
Episode 7: Porkpies
Episode 6: Reunion
Episode 5: A Microwave, Five Men and a Nappy
Episode 4: Veronica
Episode 3: 'Old De Front Page Again
Episode 2: 'Old De Front Page
Episode 1: The Treatment
Episode 6: Sad News
Episode 5: A Surprise for Porkpie
Episode 4: Hello Aunty Susu
Episode 3: Expansion Plans
Episode 2: The Offer
Episode 1: French Lessons