A Different World (1987)


Plot: In this spin-off from the popular sitcom The Cosby Show, Denise Huxtable enters her sophomore year at Hillman, alma mater of her parents and grandfather, where she moves into Gilbert Hall and shares a dorm room with 26-year-old Jaleesa Vinson and talkative new roommate Maggie Lauten. Also included in the first season cast were obnoxious and extremely wealthy dormmate Whitley Gilbert, ladies' man Dwayne Wayne and dorm director Stevie Rallen. Lettie Bostic later replaced Stevie as the new dorm director. At the end of the first season, Denise would return home (and to The Cosby Show) after dropping out of college. In the fall of 1988, new students Freddie Brooks and Kim Reese entered Hillman College. Freddie was a "hippie-child" who developed a crush on Dwayne; and Kim, an aspiring med student, became Whitley's new roommate. Giving Dwayne a hard time was his math professor, Col. Bradford Taylor. Also, Ron Johnson and Walter Oakes became regulars in the second season after appearing o Read More



Episode 25: Great X-Pectations
Episode 24: A Rock, a River, a Lena
Episode 22: Homie, Don't Ya Know Me?
Episode 21: Cabin in the Sky
Episode 20: Dancing Machines
Episode 19: Lean on Me
Episode 18: When One Door Closes... (2)
Episode 17: When One Door Closes... (1)
Episode 16: Mind Your Own Business
Episode 15: Happy Birthday to Moi
Episode 14: To Whit, With Love
Episode 13: White Christmas
Episode 12: Occupational Hazards
Episode 11: Original Teacher
Episode 10: Faith, Hope and Charity (2)
Episode 9: Faith, Hope and Charity (1)
Episode 8: Baby, It's Cold Outside
Episode 7: The Little Mister
Episode 6: Don't Count Your Chickens Before They're Axed
Episode 5: Really Gross Anatomy
Episode 4: Somebody Say Ho!
Episode 3: Interior Desecration (a.k.a. Sofa, So Good)
Episode 2: Honeymoon in L.A. (2)
Episode 1: Honeymoon in L.A. (1)
Episode 25: Save the Best for Last (2)
Episode 24: Save the Best for Last (1)
Episode 23: Special Delivery
Episode 22: Love Taps
Episode 21: Do the Write Thing
Episode 20: Sellmates
Episode 19: Conflict of Interest (2)
Episode 18: Kiss You Back (1)
Episode 17: May the Best Man Win
Episode 16: Bedroom at the Top
Episode 15: Prisoner of Love
Episode 14: Cats in the Cradle
Episode 13: Just Another Four-Letter Word
Episode 12: Twelve Steps of Christmas
Episode 11: Mammy Dearest
Episode 10: Do You Take This Woman? (2)
Episode 9: To Tell the Truth (1)
Episode 8: Liza Who-Little
Episode 7: Baby, I'm a Star
Episode 6: Rule Number One
Episode 5: In the Eye of the Storm
Episode 4: Almost Working Girl
Episode 3: Home Is Where the Fire Is
Episode 2: The Dwayne Mutiny
Episode 1: We've Only Just Begun
Episode 25: To Be Continued
Episode 24: Never Can Say Goodbye
Episode 23: If I Should Die Before I Wake
Episode 22: Monet Is the Root of All Evil
Episode 21: Sister to Sister, Sister
Episode 20: It's Showtime at Hillman
Episode 19: How Great Thou Art
Episode 18: The Cash Isn't Always Greener
Episode 17: Ms. Understanding
Episode 16: A Word in Edgewise
Episode 15: Love, Hillman-Style
Episode 14: Risk Around the Dollar
Episode 13: Ex-Communication (a.k.a. Fiancée What?)
Episode 12: War and Peace
Episode 11: I'm Dreaming of a Wayne Christmas
Episode 10: The Apple Doesn't Fall
Episode 9: Time Keeps on Slippin'
Episode 8: Love Thy Neighbor
Episode 7: Good Help Is Hard to Fire
Episode 6: Tales From the Exam Zone
Episode 5: The Goodwill Games
Episode 4: Whitley's Last Supper
Episode 3: Blues for Nobody's Child
Episode 2: How Bittersweet It Is
Episode 1: Everything Must Change
Episode 25: Perhaps Love
Episode 24: Getaway (2)
Episode 23: Getaway (1)
Episode 22: Soldier Boy
Episode 21: Sweet Charity
Episode 20: 21 Candles
Episode 19: Hillman Isn't Through With You Yet
Episode 18: A Campfire Story
Episode 17: That's the Trouble With You All
Episode 16: A World Alike
Episode 15: Success, Lies and Videotape
Episode 14: Pride and Prejudice
Episode 13: The Power of the Pen
Episode 12: Here's to Old Friends
Episode 11: Under One Roof
Episode 10: For Whom the Jingle Bell Tolls
Episode 9: Answered Prayers
Episode 8: Great Expectations
Episode 7: Wedding Bells From Hell
Episode 6: Delusions of Daddyhood
Episode 5: Forever Hold Your Peace
Episode 4: To Have and Have Not
Episode 3: The Hat Makes the Man
Episode 2: The Heat Is On
Episode 1: Strangers on a Plane
Episode 22: There's No Place Like Home
Episode 21: Citizen Wayne
Episode 20: No Means No
Episode 19: Take This Job and Love It
Episode 18: High Anxiety
Episode 17: The Thing About Women
Episode 16: It's Greek to Me
Episode 15: For She's Only a Bird in a Gilded Cage
Episode 14: Breaking Up Is Hard to Do
Episode 13: Risky Business
Episode 12: I've Got the Muse in Me
Episode 11: It Happened One Night
Episode 10: Radio Free Hillman
Episode 9: All's Fair
Episode 8: Life With Father
Episode 7: A Stepping Stone
Episode 6: If You Like Pilgrim Coladas
Episode 5: Three Girls Three
Episode 4: Dream Lover
Episode 3: Some Enchanted Late Afternoon
Episode 2: Two Gentlemen of Hillman
Episode 1: Dr. War is Hell
Episode 22: My Dinner With Theo
Episode 21: Come Back, Little Eggby
Episode 20: If Only for One Night
Episode 19: Clair's Last Stand
Episode 18: Speech Therapy
Episode 17: Mr. Hillman
Episode 16: The Show Must Go On
Episode 15: Dr. Cupid
Episode 14: Wild Child
Episode 13: The Prime of Miss Lettie Bostic
Episode 12: Advise and Descent
Episode 11: Does He or Doesn't He?
Episode 10: The Gift of the Magi
Episode 9: Romancing Mr. Stone
Episode 8: If Chosen, I May Not Run
Episode 7: Sometimes You Get the Bear, Sometimes the Bear Gets You
Episode 6: Rudy and the Snow Queen
Episode 5: War of the Words
Episode 4: Those Who Can't... Tutor
Episode 3: Porky de Bergerac
Episode 2: Pilot
Episode 1: Reconcilable Differences